The Just Do It and Do It Now Philosophy

I used to think I’ll start Monday… but Monday means “next week” or “tomorrow” as in someday in the future. 

It’s something I used to say about getting fit, losing the weight, working out, taking the stairs, parking far away, doing 30 minutes on the treadmill, getting dressed into workout clothes, drinking my water and trying to fit into my clothes.

I changed my tune since October, 2007.  That’s when I went to the doctor for my 50 mile check up (okay, six months late!)

I thought he would say “time to get a colonoscopy.” Instead he said: “The best thing you can do is to lose weight.” When I asked him how. He had one word for me, ” Weightwatchers.” 

So I did.  Online since October 2007 and both online and going to meetings since February 2009.  46 pounds so far.  More to go.

Losing the weight, now that I’m 3 years into it, is taking forever…

But I keep just keep thinking “It took years and years and years to put this weight on.” In fact, most of it came on about 0.01 pound per month.  So most of the time that’s how I’m taking it off.  By changing my habits and my life.

So here’s what I’ve been doing to change my life.  Not all at once, but over the three years that I’ve been fighting my procrastination to get healthy and have a fit body and get that healthy diet motivation that I am intellectually craving: 

  • Now my “regular” spot at work is as far away from the door as possible. Okay it’s only 60 more steps, but that’s twice a day (at least) x 5 days a week and 50 weeks a year … all multiplied together is 30000 steps or 13 miles a year. And lots of times I leave the office for a meeting or lunch.
  • I make my zero point soup once a week. (It’s a variation on the weightwatcher recipe where I add about 7 or 9 different vegetables into chicken stock or v8 broth.)  I take it for lunches or have it as an appetizer for dinner when I’m coming home and starving!
  • Switched from whole eggs to egg beaters and save points every morning with my eggs and toast.  And switched from whole milk cheese to low fat to NO FAT Kraft cheese for my omelets.  Switched from regular bread to a WW bagel or an Arnold. 
  • Eat more snacks.  Yes, I never new that eating more snacks would help me lose weight.  I bring an apple, banana or fiber bar to work each day for the 3 pm I gotta go to the vending machine feeling.  I haven’t bought anything from the vending machine in 2 years.  Except once I bought sugar free gum.
  • I put an old computer infront of my treadmill.  So now when I feel like playing a video game, I’m walking at about 2.4 miles per hour (my regular walking pace is 3.2) and I get some miles in without even noticing. 
  • I switched butter to Promise.
  • I use spray Pam or Olive Oil everytime I fry/saute on the stove.
  • I try to bake vegetables, not just boil.
  • I try new low/no fat desserts.  My current favorite: frozen raspberries (9 fiber grams in a Cup!) stirred into no fat Lite and Lively Yogert.  Let it freeze/thaw a little bit.  Wow.  Second favorite: green grapes in the freezer after 24 hours.
  • I don’t buy ice cream, but about once a month, I buy ww mint ice cream sandwiches.  And sometimes eat 2 at a sitting for 4 points.
  • Mashed cauliflower.  I eat that once or twice a week.  I LOVE it.  Better than mashed potatoes.  Add no fat sour cream and a dab of Promise.  Or even no fat spinach dip (has too much salt!)
  • I’ve always loved salsa, but now I buy or make it once a week.
  • Old bay seasoning for poultry, salmon, shrimp or scallops.  I use some olive oil in the pan and lots of that seasoning for some great tasting dinners.
  • I weigh my meat and count the points by looking it up on the computer. Still.  This is one of the hardest for me.  Roast beef servings are so small compared to what I thought I should eat.  Chicken = a deck of cards.  I still struggle with the serving size. 
  • Iceberg lettuce isn’t in our house much any more.  It’s just not satisfying like other kinds of lettuce and big bunches of fresh vegetables.  I love romain, spinach, that red one that’s name escapes me.  And even cabbage shredded up.
  • I read a series of ww bloggers – both losers and maintainers every day when I wake up with my first coffee.

This turned out to be twice as long as I thought it would.  More later!!

2 thoughts on “The Just Do It and Do It Now Philosophy”

Leave a Reply

