Planking to Strenghten Core

I took gym class so long ago that we called squat thrusts “burpies” and we did sit-ups, not crunches. And a core was what you had left after you ate the apple.

Today I learned a new term. Plank. Not about walking the gangplank like on a pirate ship, but yes I guess like a board.

Planking looks like making your body into a piece of wood and holding it for a while. I never heard of that before. I saw Conan of teamcoco doing it in a chair and I wondered how he could stay that straight. maybe he’s be planking for a while.

Anyway, I’m gonna start planking for the count of 10, 20 and 30 for a few months and see what happens to my apple core.

Leave a Reply

