New Year + New Challenge = Healthy Living Goals

Today starts a new challenge from the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Pants that goes for 8 weeks, until Feb 23, 2011.

That seems so far away, not just 8 weeks, but here we are at the end of 2010!

I plan to make this one really work for me. The Shrinkvivor challenge was great, but I never got organized for the hoedown — missed the team thing or something. I loved the team support on Shrinkvivor and I’m sure that’s what helped me lose and build some healthy motivation habits: ShrinkVivor Results: 4.4 pounds less and 44 miles walked.

GOALS

  1. My short term goal for “The Power of 1 Challenge” is to lose one pound average per week and go from 166.4 to 158.4 by the end of February.
  2. My long term goal for 2011 is to build my Healthy Diet Motivation so I focus on each day to make healthier choices. I’m not going to try to bug everyone around me (hubby & kids!) but rather focus on improving my own health.  I’m going to accomplish this goal by doing this list of steps:
  • Walking (or exercising) an average of 45 minutes per day and keeping track on Daily Mile.
  • Eating right and tracking my ww points plus each day.
  • Taking my vitamins
  • Dressing with clothes that fit
  • Checking my cholestoral twice this year
  • Doing at least five 5K’s in 2011

Wish me luck on my 2011 Challenge!  Happy New Year everyone!

24 thoughts on “New Year + New Challenge = Healthy Living Goals”

  1. Very well thought out goals!! I especially like the one about clothes that fit, that is something I fall into as well, one way or the other (too small or too big!)

  2. Good luck with your goals! I understand not wanting to bug those around you and just focusing on yourself. I feel the same way. I want to improve myself at the moment.

    1. Shera:
      I find when I’ve got a goal going, I tend to obcess about it a bit and then I bug people (like they made their goal too??!!) which I know others find annoying. I’m trying to just keep it focused on me, rather than trying to improve other people who didn’t ask my advice!! Isn’t it funny how it’s so easy to critique others, when you’re really trying to work on yourself. I mean myself!! (there I go again!)
      Chris

  3. why is the “dressing with clothes that fit” so hard? cause it really is. an ill-fitting pair of pants can ruin my whole day!

    good luck with the challenge!

  4. I need to dress in clothes that fit too. One of my co-workers today referred to FS clothing. He was referring to Fat and Sloppy. He wasn’t refering to anyone in particular but it certainly made me think of my wardrobe. It is either FS or too tight… neither of which make it fun to dress.

    1. I’ve been over 240 before but hovering in the 190 range now, without any meds. It’s in my family so I think it’s the one most important number I need to focus on to avoid stroke/heart attack down the line. The weight number is easy to focus on (obscess about ) because I have a scale at home, but if I only get checked 2 a year for cholestral I know how important it is. Facing the #s is tough, isnt’ it?

Leave a Reply

