My Own Bootcamp Routine

I took a bootcamp at my gym this summer.  3 days a week at 5:45 to 6:45 am… and then I’ve taken another bootcamp with my husband’s group 2 days a week 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm.  I sweated more at the morning one, but have challenged different muscles at the evening one because the 2nd one was designed as preseason conditioning for skiing.

It ends in another 2 weeks, so I’ve decided I’m going to do my own series of bootcamp style exercises and develop a video to run thru in the mornings.  I definitely like morning workouts better.  You get the advantage of a full day of higher metabolism, it’s easier for me to sleep and I’m not starving for dinner afterwards.  I like having a hearty breakfast that is low in points.

My first routine:

Flex and point: 

  • Stand on one foot.  Raise the knee and flex the foot of the other leg.  Arms straight out to sides like a T.
  • Focus on a distant object. Count to 3.
  • Lean forward at the hips.  Bring the arms back like you’re flying, so hands are near hips.
  • Extend raised leg up and back.  Point the toe.  Count to 3.
  • Bring knee up again, flexing the toe and count to 3.  Arms out straight in front.
  • Keep arms in front.  Leg straight out back with toe pointed.  Count to 3.
  • Keep alternating arms and knee/flex with leg out straight behind and point.
  • Stand on one foot for one minute 30 seconds building up to 2 minutes.
  • Switch legs standing on the other foot for two minutes.

Great for balance.  Very good for strength too.  Keeps the focus in the momement!  No daydreaming.  I use my stopwatch on my iPhone for keeping track of the minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

