Hiking and Power Yoga

Yesterday I did two things I hadn’t done before.

Power Vinyasa Yoga. 

Wow.  Awesome. I was definitely in the moment because it was challenging and I didn’t know what was coming up next.  I’ve been doing the same things the past few months so switching it up was great.  Next time, bring a towel! Sweat.  Some of the positions I was not able to do, or had never heard of.

Because of all the core workouts in pilates and boot camp, I could do the side plank. with one foot up in the air and one arm up in the air and just one foot down and arm straight down.  My arm was wiggling, both sides, but I did it!

Also something called crow that I never heard of.  Arms down.  Both legs up with knees tucked on top of arms.

Buckeye Trail Hike

Two hours later my husband came home and suggested we join some friends for a hike on the Buckeye Trail in Cuyahoga Valley.  What a beautiful day for a hike!  Leaves on the ground, sun shining thru the trees and great conversation.  I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  Lots of little rocks, tree branches, muddy spots and roots kept my eyes glued to the ground.   I feel I should have looked up more to drink in the sunshine and beauty, but I didn’t want to trip and fall.  My left achilles is compaining this morning… and when I woke up in the middle of the night my right knee was very stiff… but all in all a wonderful experience.

We only hiked about 2 1/2 hours, but that was plenty for me.  My heart rate monitor had a nice average of 109 and I ended up with 1000 calories.

Also really great since I did 3 hours of exercise the day before.  Not exactly as planned but: spinning, zumba and pilates.  Wow.  Now that was a workout!

 

Leave a Reply

