Getting into the MO

Motivation. Momentum. Getting and keeping the Moment.

I find it so easy to let it slip awaaaay. Feeling like I’m hungry right now and just have to eat something off plan. Or worse. Fighting that feeling like I don’t feel like making a plan. Or if I have the plan… I don’t feel like following it! I just want to be fit and strong and healthy. But not think about it.

How to STAY MOTIVATED… this from one of the blogs I read each morning to get me back into the place where it matters:

It is so much easier for me to wake up, drink a big glass of water, take my vitamins, do my yoga, and get my food set up for a healthy, clean, Paleo day, etc IF I did it the day before.

Every healthy action, every good day spurs another one.

I read somewhere… several times, so probably several somewheres, that the weight we wake up with is the result of what happened the day before. And that weight loss happens in the kitchen (not the gym). Going to the gym has become so much easier. But keeping focused on what happens in the kitchen is still very hard. And maybe it’s not really the kitchen. Maybe it’s the grocery store. Or specifically what goes into the grocery cart.

Yesterday, while I was doing some research for a project for work, I drove past a Wendy’s. And I thought to myself, I can’t remember the last time I went there. It was a long, long time ago. Like maybe 6 or 7 years ago. Since I started doing weight watchers, I don’t go to fast food. At all. Subway is the only one. and I don’t get sauce on my sandwich… The worst I do is banana peppers on a turkey sub. Or by a 12 inch (thinking I’ll eat the 2nd half for dinner and eat it 15 minutes after I wolfed down the 1st half.)

But it is so so so much better than I used to be. It’s like that person is gone.

I used to buy the 2 pound of shredded cheddar cheese from the grocery store each week. And it would be gone by the end of the week and I’d buy another one. And I think I was the only one eating it. And pizza was at least once a week. I’d buy 2 large pizzas… and eat almost a full large one myself. Now I know that a slice is 7 points. Yikes. Too much. I used to take my coffee with a lot of milk and sugar. I weaned myself off the sugar about 20 years ago. And the milk into 2%, low fat, Skim or nonfat to nothing. Just black coffee.

At the gym, started out at 1.5 miles an hour on the treadmill while I edited videos on my computer. Then walked the track at the gym. Then took a spinning class. And someone said to me, you should cross train. Don’t just spin. So I did yoga/pilates fusion. Then Yoga. Signing up for the boot camp class was a huge step! Now I’m a 5 day a week at the gym person.

Keeping the motivation is to keep taking baby steps forward. If anyone told me to give up pizza. Or fast food. Or my 2 lbs a week cheese. Or any of the millions of little things I did, I would say I couldn’t do it. But one baby step today. At a time. Yep, I can do it.

I’m working on meal planning now. For the past 4 days I’ve actually typed into MyFitnessPal my food diary in the morning before I ate anything. It made me plan lunch and dinner before I ate it. The 28 day detox made it easier because I got a new “list” of foods I’d either eat or say to myself, I don’t really like that, I’d rather have… X. But the point is, I made the decision earlier in the day, when I wasn’t hungry.

Deciding NOT under pressure. When I’m feeling like I have to eat. Right now (in the early morning) I could take it or leave it. Momentum is the tiny steps forward when it looks like you’re not even moving. And brushing off the step back as a momentary thing – focus on the forward momentum.

2 thoughts on “Getting into the MO

  1. Baby steps are still steps in the right direction. 🙂

    Re hunger, or cravings, you might want to google ‘healthy fat’. More and more studies are showing that healthy fats are good for us, satiate us, and keep hunger at bay. By healthy fats I mean FULL FAT dairy (yes!), avocados, coconut oil. And marbeling on meat or skin on chicken. All the things we were always told to avoid. ALL because the country believed ONE MAN’s FAULTY work; Ansel Keys. He did the study on the effect of fats in our diet, on our heart. Because of his work alone, fat became the enemy. The problem with his study, is that he selectively chose which countries’ results, and which NOT…to include in his findings. Had he included ALL countries, the results would’ve shown that healthy fats (not industrially created fats and oils) are safe, and that life expectancy is HIGHER in those that eat healthy fats.

    In reality, it’s grains and sugars that keep food cravings alive and cause hunger. The more you can eliminate them, the fewer cravings and hunger you will have. There is so much good research on this now. I highly recommend looking into it. Just be prepared to throw pre-conceived notions aside…even those from your own doctor(s.) 🙂

    • Gwen:
      Thank you for the advice. I’ve recently been using coconut oil and eating avocados, both of which are new to me. I switched from corn oil to olive oil about 7 years ago. But also, the sugars and grains are still a part of my regular diet. (not a lot, but they are still there.) I eliminated them during the 28 day detox, but started back up again.

      I’ll take a look at Ansel Keys things. It’s hard not to look for lean meat thinking that’s the right thing.
      I’m going to keep working on it.
      thanks!!
      Chris

Leave a Reply

