More Nagging Butt Pain

Still fighting the piriformis muscle pain with sciatica. 10th day. Grrrr. Last time it took 11 days. Tough to sleep. It comes on bad about 2:30 in the morning and I can’t seem to get it to calm down in the middle of the night at all. I know I’m not the only one with this. Run | Write | Hike has the same troubles. When I opened up this month’s Oprah magazine and saw the article called Migraine in my Butt, I knew it was about the piriformis.

I need to really do my exercises everyday or this will become a syndrome. It’s going to be one more habit that I do every morning like brushing my teeth, do my hair and strengthen and stretch my piriformis.

Here’s my piriformis history:

March 14, 2014:
Was doing inverted pushups, but I really think it was the kettlebell swing that did it. Somehow I’m engaging the wrong muscles first.
I was fine on Saturday, but limping around on Sunday. By Monday I was in full charlie horse/spasms with pain going down the outside of my leg.
Missed class 17, 19, 24, 26, 31 plus all the Saturday and spinning classes.
Got a massage on day 6 with exercises at a sports massage place. I still have the bruise a week later. But only a half hour and it attacked the spot. Love that she gave me exercises. I’m thinking about getting another 1/2 hour massage to help because tomorrow I have a 4 hour car ride for work and I don’t want to be the tin man in pain.

In Oct 14, 2014:
Doing great at the workout and ZZZZZITTTTT. Pain in the back, like a lighting rod.
I wasn’t even in the midst of working out, just setting one of the weights down. UGH. Have iced/heat alternating and it is still just very stiff now. Thinking of a massage, but really don’t want this to be happening!
Missed class on Oct 16, 18, 21,23, 25
Came back for the 28th!
Had an allergic reaction so missed class on 30, 1, 4,
Came back on Nov 6th.
Got a massage on day 2, half hour at a spa place. Not strong enough.

June 21, 2014:
Felt it when was doing opening morning stretch, a little pop and it didn’t even hurt.
But later, after 2 hours in the car going to family reunion, when it was time to get out of the car, I couldn’t move.
Got a 1 hour sports massage on day 6. She spent about 3 minutes with super pressure on this one spot and I felt the muscle untwist and relax. It hurt like hell but worked.

what I don’t have anymore, thanks to adding all my calf rolling and massages is my horrible history with Achilles Tendonitis. It took YEARS of work (2 1/2 or 3) and now constant watching, but I’ve conquered it and I never thought I would. There were 24 physical therapy appointments, but it wasn’t until I went to the Ohio Chiropractic Sports and learned about the roller was I able to keep it at bay. I had the achilles tendonitis problems when I was at my high weight, in fact I think that’s how I got to my high weight. I was holding my own at 194 or 195, but got hurt and it spiked to 212 or more.

Gotta get the piriformis under control!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

