Resisting the Birthday Celebration Cheats

deck_bdayIt’s a beautiful day and I snuck out of work early to meet my friends for a quick birthday celebration. Out on the deck, my buddies are sitting around an umbrella shaded table heaped with birthday bags, colorful table mattes, paper plates and festive balloons and flowers. Birthday cards with funny covers and silly sayings get passed around the table.

Center of attention are the appetizers. So lovely. Obviously hours of work went into their preparation. The food looked  beautiful and appealing. Like out of a magazine.

Then the giant birthday cake… made from scratch.

And a wide choice of wine, beer and other alcoholic beverages served in fun glasses.

How to resist. Ugh. Not only am I hungry (it’s 4:30 pm) but we  (my husband & his/my other friends)  are going bike riding at 6:30, (meaning I need to leave the party by 5:30, to get home, eat, changed and leave in time to get to the parking lot where we will meet.)

So I didn’t drink. That part wasn’t hard. Thank goodness I don’t have much of  a problem with resisting the alcohol or I don’t know what I’d do to try to lose/keep off the weight!!

And I was able to resist the food. They know me pretty well by now. It’ll be 3 years in 60 days from now.

None the less, I get all this:

  • You’re missing out
  • just this once
  • c’mon try some
  • aren’t you going to have any?
  • You are so good

Maybe they didn’t say all of these, but I heard them. The ones they didn’t say,  I heard in my head.

I left after an hour. I was there, but I didn’t feel like I really connected.  Food definitely makes you connect.  Drinking my water while they had beer/wine/etc. felt like deprivation.

This is the 4th celebration this month.  The others were at Panera, our usual coffee hang out… where I can grab a coffee black and not feel as out of place.

You might wonder, why not just have a taste?!  I can’t. Especially when I’m hungry. I want to eat, not nibble.

Sometimes they serve fruit, but there is sugar on it.

Part of it was my clothes. I was in work clothes, coming straight from the office, not the party style.  Part of it was who I sat by, there is one other who is “really good” and usually just drinks water. But she seems not tempted by the treats and there isn’t the usual cajoling to get her to sample the beginning of what I consider the “slippery slope.”   And my head was still in the work projects that I left unfinished.

Next time I need to bring something. But I don’t want to take all the time to prep something when I have to take it to work and then take it to the party. And it would be “healthy” ie not eaten.

Once I got home, heated up my chicken breast, added the veggies and wolfed it down in 3 minutes… hurrying to change clothes, load up my bike, water bottle, cleats, helmet, bike pack etc and hop into the truck to head to the trail. Very  glad I resisted.

The food was just right in my belly.

At 9 pm at the restaurant, after the 22 miles ride, I ordered a spinach salad with dressing on the side.  Tomatoes, eggs, cucumber and a bit of cheese.  YUM!

Woke up to a happy scale on Friday morning!!!

If I didn’t have bike riding on the agenda, I wouldn’t have resisted. At least one… maybe even 2 glasses of wine. And then I can’t resist the food.

I hope they keep inviting me to the party. I hope I don’t make them feel bad by not eating or drinking.  I hope I can keep it up.  When I secumb, I end up trying to get the weight back off for months. (Right now I’m still fighting down a few pounds from the prior weekend potluck.)

Keep the focus. Good nutritious food in the right quantity.  Exercise that doesn’t hurt, but brings out the endorphins.  Restful sleep where I wake up rarring to go!

PS – the 22 miles was strenuous enough I had endorphins floating around until around midnight.  First time I felt my bike ride had been hard enough to feel like a workout.

Going out this morning for another one!!

Leave a Reply

