Plateau Breaker

I’ve been fighting a 5 pound plateau every since winter when I hurt my piriformus. Even thought I’ve been riding and running, I haven’t dropped those 5 winter pounds I gained when I stopped working out and just stretched.

So this is a quick summary from My Fitness Pal post on how to break a plateau:

  • Foods high in fiber are nutrient-dense and often lower in calories and higher in volume than other foods. Examples include apples, raspberries, blackberries, pears, beans, lentils, split peas, artichokes, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, avocados, nuts, seeds and 100% whole grains.
  • No package foods… if it comes in a bag or a box, don’t eat it, switch to a “whole” food. Or at least no more than  5 or fewer ingredients.
  • Power up protein: Cottage cheese, Greek yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, tuna and chicken salad (no mayo) are great go-to high-quality protein sources of fuel.
  • More water.
  • Fewer (or none) empty calories.
Leave a Reply

