10K Training for the Akron Marathon Team Relay

august trainingSo the past 3 weeks have been about running. Whoo hoo. I think I’m going to be okay if I don’t push it too far and too fast too soon!

Yesterday was a day I pushed myself, running 3.1, walking .67 and then running 2.2 the rest of the way.  5.3 running.  I walked because I really needed some water. It was hot and I didn’t have any. Stopped at a coffee shop and got some. Averaged out I ran at a 12:55. I was pooped the rest of the day.

I have been keeping track of my training and am right on target, maybe even a little ahead.

I definitely do better if I run early in the day before it is hot. I have an easy week this week with two 3 mile runs and a 5 mile. Then next week is one of the toughest with three 5 mile runs. My plan was to train slower than I am.

Considering buying new shoes now to break in before the race. The ones I have are good… but with just the training I will put 60 more miles on them (easily) in the next month and want to make sure that they hold up. I used to use shoes until they were really worn out, but because of my injuries that I partly blame on over use on my shoes, I think I’m going to release them from duty before they are worn out.

Leave a Reply

