Hot Race Yesterday

racetothetaste2015
Yesterday was a fun run with my friend. It was a race actually so we met at the beginning and chatted, but when the flag dropped, it was serious! 🙂 I ran intervals, fast for a minute then slow.  I didn’t want to be obnoxious and use my timer with it going off and talking to me during the race, so I used my heart monitor.  There were times I let it get up to 172… but mostly ran with the peaks being around 165 or 162… and the lows in the 150’s.

With the heat and humidity, even at 9 am, that was a lot. The humidity wiped me out and overwhelmed the endorphins after the race. I started out faster than usually, caught up in the “heat of the moment” but got into a rhythm about the second mile. The last half mile I pushed it as much as possible… finishing the race at 175 beats per minute. (which is high for me!) Belive me, today is going to be a real rest day!

I would like to say it was a PR. Unfortunately my Map my Run report gave better numbers. I thought I did PR, but finished with a 12:16 average. Mapmyrun said 11:09 and gave 3.47 as the distance. Very odd. So weirdly, I was disappointed. Mostly because now I don’t trust my mapmyrun numbers that I’ve been looking at. Silly I know, but a head game just the same. I should be thrilled with 12:16 in that heat. Looking back at my training times, it’s crazy how much the heat will sap your time. I’m not sure what the temperature was during the race, but at 2:30 when I was driving my car, the care thermometer said 94 and the low was 66. I may have been 73 or 4 when we raced.

I was thinking about my PR of 11:30 last December (very cold!). I should put my grateful hat on and be thinking about I’m running again and this was the first race of 2015! Without piriformis pain!
Race to the Taste Certifica 2015

Leave a Reply

