Second Quarter 2017 Goals

First quarter 2017 was a big success. I participated in my gym’s challenge and nailed it.  Even lost 4 pounds in the process, even though that wasn’t the point of the challenge.  It was going to the gym EVERY DAY for 66 DAYS.  I made 62 of the days.

Met lots of new people. Even joined a Facebook running group and have been running 2 times with them. Did lots of new classes. Hit my fitbit step, stair, calorie burn and active minute goals like no tomorrow!

Now for 2nd quarter 2017 goals:  Nutrition challenge!  I’m going to nail this one too. My eyes are on the 147 mark so I can be 25 on the BMI scale.  162.2 when I weighed in last Thursday on my 60th birthday.  This morning: 159.2.  Whoot! In a week.

Not an April Fools Day joke!

I was actually surprised how strong and fit I look. It is still in my head that I am heavy and out of shape.  When I look at this photo I am reminded how hard I have worked over the past 10 years to lose it and keep it off.

What did I do differently this past week? Not much, except to actually log everything I ate in MyFitnessPal.  So weird how it actually makes you lose weight when you log it.  Only thing I think I did differently so far was not eat a bunch of peanut butter with my granny smith apple at 3 pm each day.  And drank more water for sure. Crazy!!

Some of my strategy:  Each morning I follow a few key individuals who have set what I consider Big Hairy Audacious Goals (by getting and staying fit) and they help me to stay focused: David Garcia – an LA TV producer who runs up skyscrapers for fun, Sean Anderson – a radio personality in Oklahoma who focuses on taking care of himself (what a concept!), and  Lori Kimble a graphic designer in New York state turned soap business owner. All of them have lost significant amounts of weight and kept it off for years.  My 70 pound loss (with 50-60 pounds of it staying off since 2012) seems insignificant compared to them, but I am inspired by their strategies.

And that’s the who point of this blog is to keep my healthy diet motivation. I can’t give up, gotta keep working it.

Love listening to Sean’s podcast! It’s awesome.

I’ve been following Jason Fitzgerald’s strength running too and making a chart for staying injury free so I do my therapy moves first thing: right glute, right calf and left shoulder. Of course I work both sides, but I’m trying to not re injure myself.

My other 2nd quarter 2017 challenge: The Ultimate Fitness challenge as a partner for my running buddy. Lots to work on there. More later about this in another post.

Also. Made the commitment to run the half marathon for the Akron marathon! Whew. I’m running a 13:30 minute mile right now due to the weight I gained (5-10 pounds in the last 2 years) and want to get back down to keep my joints from hurting. And maybe I can get back to my 12:30 pace too!

Big year this 6.0!

 

 

Leave a Reply

