6 Miles This Morning – No Problem

I was running side by side with my running buddy today. She did most of the talking as I was huffing and puffing a bit.

I must say, I’m surprised how easy it felt to do six miles on hills while talking with someone else.

Prior to the run I grabbed 2 bananas and 2 water bottles. We put a car at each end of the run. She had 2 water bottles too so we had a water station at each end.

A flushing toilet at the halfway point was an added plus, although it increased the time in the 4th mile split. Even so, we weren’t going for time as much as distance.

As you can see below, it was a slow easy run today. The negative splits reflect the direction of the hills more than our change of pace.

The weather was a little muggy, but not as bad as some summer days and the temperature was only around 70 degrees.

As we went up a series of hills, she reminded me that training is not just about building physical strength, but builds mental toughness too.

“When we’re running the half, I’m going to remember these hills and remind myself that I did them before.”  Me too! I know that will help me during the Akron half since there are lots of hills on that route.

Next Saturday we’re planning a 10 mile run. I’m already looking forward to it!

 

Leave a Reply

