How I am going to get a new PR for a 5K?

So I’ve been training for the Akron Half and it’s going okay. I’m just running very slowly. Mostly don’t want to overdo and hurt my Achilles tendon. And I’m just a slow runner.

Slow, as in 13 or 14 minutes a mile.  My PR for a 3.1 race is 11:36. I’ve done that twice. But it’s been a few years ago.

And I’m going to try to hit it again, or better in another 10 days or so at the Race to the Taste.  I’ve done this race a couple of times. It’s always been blazing hot. So if it’s too humid, I wont try to go for a new PR, just use it as a training run.  But if the temperatures are right, I’m going to go for it.  Partly because I want to do some speed work outs and partly because it’s been quite a while since I hit my PR for a 5K.

This morning ran 4.1 miles with a 13:23 average, but negative splits. Saturday I ran 9.6 miles for my longest ever. I am thinking I’ll try a new longest ever, maybe in a week. Next Wednesday morning if the weather is good and I don’t have any big commitments.

Because of the MS150, I spent a lot of my June and July training time getting ready for the ride. It’s time now to focus on the running. Intervals. Hills. Endurance. Tempo runs. Cross training with yoga and cycling… maybe swimming but I think that my hurt the Achilles too.

Lots of foam rolling and rolling with a tennis ball.

Massage. Another trip to the chiropractor before the half to scrape the scar tissue with the Grafton technique.

I’m feeling pretty good, but not confident that I can complete the half in less than 3 hours… which is my goal. 38 minutes 5K and 1:19:30 for a 10K, 2:56:07 for a half. According to one of my apps. Not sure exactly how the per mile minutes work out – maybe a 12.26 minute/mile 5K, 13:14 for a 10K and 13:43 half.

My big plan? Lose another 5 pounds. It’s gotta make a difference. I read somewhere that each pound is worth like 10 seconds a mile. So if I can get rid of 5 more, that 50 seconds each mile or 11 minutes on the half.

Tuna/salmon/chicken, veggies, and eggs. Lots of water. Complex carbs. Hold the alcohol. I weigh 153 today. Can I get down to 148, 5 pounds less by 9/23? Can I do a new PR for my 5K?

Leave a Reply

